Thursday, November 18, 2021 // 18:15

It's fun how quickly I run out of energy after my yummy cup of coffee. I was ready to type something up here, but now I'm super tired haha. Coffee crashes get me fast these days. I'll still type something up anyway.

I am on call with my job today until 2300, but will most likely not be called for a flight out, because I have already been assigned a trip for tomorrow. Today supercedes that, but it's highly unlikely they will remove me. It's good for me, because I can better prepare for the trip. I'm not doing anything fancy tomorrow, just a flight to Chicago, then back and then to Orlando, layover, and then back home. That will take up the three days I had on call. So, I'll be free for two days after. Nice.

Weather here is not that pretty. All day has been cloudy and raining. I don't mind it, I wasn't planning on going anywhere, but since I am on call, you never know with weather. Definitely a stay-at-home day. I'll throw a little photo of it below.

I have been catching up on some shows recently, so I need to update my little Status box in the corner. I am awaiting the premiere of The Wheel of Time. It is supposed to be released on the 19th and plan on watching just the first episode. I have to sleep early tonight, so can't go further than that. Hopefully though I'll be able to catch the next episode on my layover.

If I get a little time on my flights I'll try to update this with my thoughts.

Outside view of miami skyline with rain showers

Sunday, November 14, 2021

In the sky, on my way back to Miami. Just spent the night in Honduras with the crew. What a great night it was. Hanging by the pool having some drinks and food, telling insane stories from our job. We’ve been getting more junior flight attendants back to Miami after many got displaced due to COVID. It’s nice to fly with people my age group.

Two more flights to go today and then going to head home. We head to Puerto Plata, DR shortly after we arrive and then back to Miami. Should be pretty easy. We have a great crew as well so that helps.

Time for some coffee!

view from airplane window of beach in Dominican Republic

Friday, November 12, 2021 // 21:30

Hello frens. I was not able to update the page in operations, but I did snap a photo before I was assigned to fly to Turks & Caicos. It was a quick trip, basically fly there, and then setup to fly back. Didn't even leave the aircraft. We did have a little fun while we waited for security to finish their sweep. The plane next to us was about to push back, so we waved at the pilots and one of the crew blew kisses, they waved back. Then we started dancing on the stairs outside the door of the aircraft and the crew at the aft of the plane were doing the same. I'm sure most passengers were confused and taking photos. All in fun.

Back home now, but got assigned a trip for tomorrow. Looks like I'll be flying to Orlando and back, then off to San Pedro Sula, Honduras. It's a rough country, but the layover at the hotel is pleasant. Not sure what the vaccine situation is like there, but looking forward to learning their progress. After flying back from Honduras, we head to Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic. Fancy! Not the shortest of work days, but I'm sure the trip will be pleasant. I look forward to updating you on that situation.

Yes, I am still typing my blog entries on an IBM PC 5170. No, I don't know why. However on the plane I will be using the Notes app. :)

Until tomorrow, and yes I will update. I really hate typing on my phone, but will knock it out.

Inside crew lounge showing lounge chairs and work computers.

Thursday, November 11, 2021 // 23:20

Long time, sorry. I just finished packing my luggage for work tomorrow. Headed to the airport for what we call standby. Basically, I sit in the crew lounge in Operations and if they need me to relieve a crew member and so on, I will be ready to go. Keeps operations moving.

I will try to update the blog while on my sit if I do get to sit. Sometimes we get so busy at work that I get immediately assigned a trip. Regardless, I'll keep the blog going.

Time to get some rest though.

Friday, April 30, 2021 // 21:04

So, I've been having a little fun with my internet on this Windows 2000 machine. I have a little travel router I used to take with me everywhere, and after upgrading to a new model I decided to use this one just for this machine. I wanted to mimic a 56k v.92 modem, and this travel router allows for speed limits. So I played around and I am now using internet as if I were in 2001. The problem is, the internet is so bloated now, that these speeds just can't handle all the garbage. Seriously, you should look at the source code of some of these sites. It's full of so much crap.

Solution I've found so far is to use a browser like New Moon, and then UBlock plugin. In the settings I enabled a ton of different filters that kill off pretty much all social media buttons as that is what seemed to slow down pages. I also killed off ads and so on. Another thing I am considering is flipping the switch to not load large images, or give me the option to load them. This definitely will help with speed.

It's clearly just for fun. I don't plan on browsing this way, but it really reminds me of how far we've come. I do miss the internet when it was more simple. I was younger though, and maybe the internet wasn't as great for everyone. Anyway, that's all I have for now.

Thursday, December 31, 2020 // 22:15

New Year Stuff.

Happy New Year to everyone! I am currently in Naples, FL. I had to get away from Miami for a bit. Haven't been near my computer in awhile either which is why I haven't updated the blog, but it's needed. I have been feeling blah recently and for good reason. I think 2020 has affected many, and it's good that I could step away from being locked up in my apartment.

Good news on the airline front. I got recalled to my job, and after a tiny bit of training, I'll be back in the skies. I can't wait to fly again. It's been crazy.

Saturday, December 06, 2020 // 19:58

Downtown Miami, Night

Spent hours trying to get the deskcam to work on Windows 98, but it's just not possible on a non NT based OS. I know there are ways around getting the software itself to run, but I'm having issues with the coding. So, I'm just going to let that go.

Days have been short for me. I wake up early, but have no reason to stay up so go back to bed. Then I wake up and have maybe 4 hours before sunset. I'm not dissing the current time. This is how it should be. Fuck Daylight Savings. Monday we see if my stupid federal government passes the worst relief bill. I believe my job will be saved, and I'm grateful to the tax payers for that, not Pelosi, but I hurt for the millions without any sign of relief. For that waste of space to say, "Biden won, vaccine is coming. We don't need a stimulus bill anymore" paraphrasing Pelosi. It's just disgusting. I know Biden will try to get something passed when he's in office, but that's 50 days too late. Let's go......

Wednesday, November 25, 2020 // 16:02

Downtown Miami skyscrapers, overcast skies.

Seems like I missed a few days. During this pandemic, though the rest of the state thinks everything is back to normal which it clearly isn't, I am doing the right thing and staying away from almost all human interactions, and staying indoors. So it seems my days are filled with pretty much nothing. I wake up, and watch the clouds pass I guess. Just have to wait a little longer I believe for some kind of relief. If that isn't the case, I will have to try and find some other employment or put my skills to use elsewhere until the time is right. My one concern is interacting with people during the worst part of this pandemic. So that's where I am right now and why I may not have much to talk about.

Today, I think I'll spend most of it trying to update all of the mods from my Sims 4 game. They keep throwing out patches or updates for the main game as well as packs, and when that happens, the mods are usually imcompatible and will cause the sim to crash. I have hundreds of mods for this, so I don't think this will be finished in one go. I may have to hack up the mods myself and make them compatible if a modder has gone MIA or decided to stop updating. That's always fun.

Other than that, my plans were to do some flight sim legs. I usually fly real world routes with real world loads with real world traffic to keep me sane while I'm grounded. It kind of helps, makes me feel like I'm working except none of the dry air and standing all day. Good times.

Also, today is lovely out.

Saturday, November 21, 2020 // 18:15 ♦ Dennis

Miami, FL during rainshower. Skyscrapers to the right.

Hello there. The days here in Miami sure are getting cooler. I am quite a fan. Not that I can really enjoy it. Still raining off and on. I figured I would post a photo out the window every time I write something on here. At the moment of the writing it is raining, but looks like it's not going to last very long, breezy as well. I like it! I only wish it wasn't so damn loud outside, then I could enjoy it a little more.

I have been updating the page here and there with little things, nothing crazy. Mostly just learning and relearning CSS and so on. I'm really enjoying it. I have the Windows XP layout going, but I'm most likely not going to use it. I was just playing with moving div elements and different style techniques. I still don't have much content to offer on here, but I don't think I ever did in 2000 either.

As far as personal life goes, it's been stressful off and on after the election. While the person I settled for won, the mess before inauguration is what stresses me out, not to mention what corporate chumps he's planning to appoint to certain positions. Anyway, the politics and also the future of my job have been stressing me out. I only have furlough pay until January, or mid-January. I'm hoping Congress comes around and signs a new relief bill that will extend our payroll to help jumpstart air travel when demand comes, and it will very quickly. We need to be READY to go immediately to keep the economy going. So, I'm hoping for that. Hoping this Georgia run-off goes to plan. We need McConnell out. Wouldn't mind Pelosi getting the boot either. Hope everyone out there is doing ok in this mess. Please be safe during Thanksgiving. I'll be sitting here alone, just the way it needs to be.

Tuesday, November 3, 2020 // 17:01 ♦ Dennis

It's such a beautiful day to vote, at least in Miami it is. ⛅️ 🌡️+78°F 🌬️↙16mph at the moment. I voted early on October 23rd and it was counted the very next day. Well, I turned in my mail in ballot to an early voting location. It's been a ride this year for sure, but for some reason my spirits are up. I just really want something good to come out of this year, and I feel this election going the right way might be it. We'll see.

I'm currently watching TYT all day long, taking breaks, and enjoying the weather from my balcony. Miami is usually hot and humid, so this is a nice change. I'm really digging this layout as I enjoy saying every post, but started quietly working on a Windows 98 version. It's going to look pretty much the same. So, nothing too different. Just Windows 98 style buttons and windows. I'm just working on the menu bars and allowing the resizing of the windows and moving. Shouldn't be super hard.

Went to sleep around 01:35 this morning and feel like I knocked out quick, but my sleep tracker says otherwise. I must've been tossing and turning for 4 hours because it says I didn't fall asleep until 04:00. What!? I feel it though, so I guess it's right.

Saturday, October 31, 2020 // 19:41 ♦ Dennis

I'm digging the new layout. It took a couple days to get everything the way I wanted it. I learned some cool tricks with html and css as well. W3Schools website has it all. I'm still thinking if I want to change the mouse cursor to a more DOS friendly version.

The layout and colors were inspired by the SyncTerm app. It's an app that allows Windows users to connect and properly view BBSes. Typing this in Microsoft Word 5.5 for MS-DOS.

Photo of screen, showing my text editor

I'm sure this nostalgia will wear off eventually, right?! My next step is to get a raspberryPi going so I can get a little more action on the internet side.

Hope everyone has a safe Halloween. I didn't leave the house or dress up. Been quite tired these days as reality sets in. I'm hoping in a few short days my mood will change. I am pretty sad about the state of the world.

Take care.

Thursday, October 11, 2020 // 02:07 ♦ Dennis

Well, I completely blew my sleeping early routine on the second day. I'll try again. It really helped me feel better. The last few days have been awful for me. Will try to actually post some updates later today.

Thursday, October 10, 2020 // 00:09 ♦ Dennis

Hello folks, sorry I haven't been talking much. I spent all day playing around with my IBM PC AT. Installing MS-DOS 5 and playing some old retro games that I grew up with. Then I went into installing Windows 95 on an 133Mhz computer for some 3DFX games. Lots of fun.

Anyway, I promised myself I would try to go to sleep earlier for my health. Time for sleep.

Thursday, October 8, 2020 // 14:49 ♦ Dennis

Hey guys, so I've been spending a lot of time getting this deskcam to be live instead of just an image I take and upload every once in awhile. I will not be doing this with my webcam area just yet. The deskcam is an old Python script an old friend made. I did a little reconfiguring and seems to be working well. The deskcam takes a screenshot and displays the image only when it's requested, instead of a nonstop capture. Great for bandwidth if that's still an issue in 2020.

I have Neko running around my desktop as well which is fun. I missed ScreenMates. My retro computer is running Windows XP and I'm typing this in a DOS version of Corel WordPerfect 6.2.

Saturday, August 15, 2020 // 19:22 ♦ Dennis

So, funny thing. My previous note, I typed about safety on the plane. While it is as safe as it can get, that doesn't mean that you are in the clear. Apparently, someone on one of my trips tested positive for COVID-19. I'm not quite sure what flight it was, but I have a feeling I know. I received a call from my airline telling me that they are grounding me for 2 weeks with pay, and if I have any symptoms to use the protocal in place we use. It's crazy. I lost two trips out of it, but I'm happier to be on the ground and quarantined, than not know if I have it as well and spreading it. So, the only thing left to do is wait. :)

I hope everyone is keeping safe out there. Thanks for visiting this relic of a page. If I keep updating this thing it will start to look too modern haha. I do need to get rid of the tables though and use divs instead. We shall see.

Saturday, August 8, 2020 // 15:48 ♦ Dennis

Currently on my flight to DFW, so far so good. It’s a little strange not having to wake up super early for work like my last flights. Nikki had a dinner party with a few friends last night and I checked in to hope she had a good time and she said she it was the worst night ever. I asked what happened but she didn’t really respond. So I told her if she wants to talk about it, I am here. But she didn’t respond. I was kind of expecting her to tell me what happened, but I guess she doesn’t want to talk about it. Running through my head though for some reason. I’ll try to let it go. Just hate seeing her upset.

Flight has been good so far, but kind of busy. We don’t do a beverage service anymore, however, we still have to answer call bells which most passengers on this flight are touching by accident. Still, we have to get up and answer them. Good stuff. I still get questions from friends if it is safe to fly, and while most would say, “NO!!! Stay home!!!”, I would usually agree if you don’t need to be somewhere. For those who need to see family for a certain reason or emergency, I would say it’s pretty safe. We have hospital-grade HEPA filters with high velocity air circulation. It takes only 2 to 4 minutes for the airplane to bring in and remove old air. So basically, the plane is constantly bringing in fresh air. You don’t get that on a bus, or train, not to mention a restaurant or grocery store. Touch points have been minimized, and I’ll say the cleaners do a great job getting the plane as clean as possible, but it’s still best to bring your own wipes and sanitize your area. As long as people are wearing their mask, and we are making sure of that, it’s as good as it can be.

I think I’ll leave it at that. Hope every one is having a good day

Friday, August 7, 2020 // 02:03 ♦ Dennis

I finally got Windows XP working on my computer. Everything looks fine. Just tweaking some things here and there, and of course, making sure the OS is as secure as it's going to get with no more support. Boy, I forgot how slow 56K modem speeds were. This is top level nostalgia, but it's kind of funny the pain I put myself through. I just wanted to do all of this again to remember the times that were not great, but better than 2020. I was in High School when I made this page. I was a senior. Wait, actually I think I was a junior. The webcam image that is showing as of this post is from December of 2001. I was a senior then. I remember it all now. I'm happy to get back to coding simple stuff. I guess now that the site is kind of where it should be except for the links and little things, I can start updating about my day to day. So I will do that in my future updates. Thanks for reading.

Thursday, August 6, 2020 // 16:11 ♦ Dennis

I think I'm going to take the jump to Windows XP! I hope my computer can handle it though. I managed to snag a copy. It's good news because a lot of the software I'm trying to use isn't compatible with NT 5.0 anymore. I haven't eaten today, so I'm trying to work out what I want to eat, but I did have a yummy coffee. I may make another one. I hope everyone else has a good day. It's about to rain here. I'll see you on the other side. Hope this install works.

Wednesday, August 5, 2020 // 16:36 ♦ Dennis

Site is coming along nicely. I know it's terrible, but that's why I love it. I used to spend hours after school learning new things to show off on my little page. Now I'm just doing it over again 20 years later for nostalgia. I am currently waiting for film to develop so I won't be able to update the Cam section until I can get a self portrait out of it. Still drinking my coffee that I made around 2pm or so. It's still warm! I'm trying to make the best use out of my small desktop screen here on Win 2000 Pro. I'm trying to remember all the software I used to play with as a teenager. I think I'm going to try and load up a DOS game or something. Have a good day!

Wednesday, August 5, 2020 // 01:19 ♦ Dennis

What a long night! I've been working on this little site for hours in Windows 2000 Pro. I can't believe I'm still up. I wanted to correct a few things, and then got sucked into HTML and CSS. Even though this site was from 2001, It's exciting me to play around with code again. So, I'm going to work on that next. I do need to rest though, so I'm going to head out!

Tuesday, August 4, 2020 // 19:43 ♦ Dennis

Wow, I'm going back through this old site I made. I cannot believe how long it's been since I've done something like this. Younger me would probably be proud of whom I've become, but I am not sure. Though I went through some struggles in school and home, I do think this site really helped me get stuff off my chest. Really enjoy this.

Saturday, May 19, 2001 // 23:57 ♦ Dennis

Yay! I'm glad Rachel is finally posting! that is really good. I'm tired too... I better go to bed. Here is some funny crap i heard today. First, I heard Britney Spears is making a movie. She is also getting her own playstation 2 game... Oh boy! can't wait! haaaa. Not trying to be mean to her or anything, but come on! a game??? We already had enough of the mary kate & ashley game! Oh well. I'll check into that to see if it is really real or not. I'm watching =W=eezer on SNL right now. They have some good music. I'm not a huge huge fan of them though. AHH, Forgot to mention that my good friend Katie got mono! NOOOO! I know! poor her. I wish i could do something to help, but i can't. My advice is to rest a lot, and try not to do tooo much. Meaning.... No more parties for Katie... haha.. just trying to help you. 4 more days of school!!!! YAY! I can't wait! I'm bleaching my hair, and then when it gets it's natural color again, i will die it a bluish color, but not dark blue. Check out oddd.org. He has the hair i want.

Saturday, May 19, 2001 // 23:09 ♦ Rachel

welll im finally posting a real post by myself!!!! anyways,...i don't really have much to say other than goodnight because im really tired =)

Saturday, May 19, 2001 // 16:41 ♦ Dennis

*sigh* I finally fixed the site so that it is easier for Rachel to post. Dang, I fixed the html too. I am very satisfied with my site now! :D Please sign my guestbook and tell me what you think!!! Also, most of the links, and buttons are broken. I have just started the layout so give me around an hour or so to fix it. It will be complete around then.